Long Shadow Pedestal 2007

This blog is for all of those consumer’s who after watching the movie “Sideway’s” decided they did not like the grape varietal Merlot. Guess what, ha ha keep hating because you are missing out on this fabulous varietal. If you are like me and just laughed throughout the ridiculous statements about Merlot in the movie then yes thank you for not letting the media tell you what to like or not like.

It has been some time since I have been this excited about a Merlot. I was specifically looking for a Merlot from Columbia Valley, WA. Why? Well I adore the richness of the fruit from this region and specifically the Merlot Grape varietal. One of my sales reps mentioned this winery to me. The minute he said Michel Rolland is the winemaker, I knew I had to taste it. Michel Rolland is considered by many to be one of the most influential winemaker in the field.

The day came for me to taste this wine. The label is stunning with the beautiful dark purple background and gold encrusted writing. and the bottle is quite impressive, very heavy glass. Ok, yes not that it really matters, but believe it or not some make purchases solely on if the label is pretty. Ladies we all like pretty but with wine who cares how fancy the label is because trust me you as the consumer pay the price for all these gorgeous wine labels.

As my rep poured me a very nice glass of Pedestal it had great color. As with previous vintages, Pedestal is a blend of carefully selected vineyards chosen to create a layered, complex wine. Those who have followed Pedestal since its inception will find similarities between the highly acclaimed debut vintage (2003) and the 2007. Both growing seasons were quite warm, followed by a moderate fall and ideal harvest conditions. Warm days and cool nights contributed excellent acidity in the grapes and a lively freshness to the wine.

This blog is for all of those consumer’s who after watching the movie “Sideway’s” decided they did not like the grape varietal Merlot. Guess what, ha ha keep hating because you are missing out on this fabulous varietal. If you are like me and just laughed throughout the ridiculous statements about Merlot in the movie then yes thank you for not letting the media tell you what to like or not like.

It has been some time since I have been this excited about a Merlot. I was specifically looking for a Merlot from Columbia Valley, WA. Why? Well I adore the richness of the fruit from this region and specifically the Merlot Grape varietal. One of my sales reps mentioned this winery to me. The minute he said Michel Rolland is the winemaker, I knew I had to taste it. Michel Rolland is considered by many to be one of the most influential winemaker in the field.

The day came for me to taste this wine. The label is stunning with the beautiful dark purple background and gold encrusted writing. and the bottle is quite impressive, very heavy glass. Ok, yes not that it really matters, but believe it or not some make purchases solely on if the label is pretty. Ladies we all like pretty but with wine who cares how fancy the label is because trust me you as the consumer pay the price for all these gorgeous wine labels.

As my rep poured me a very nice glass of Pedestal it had great color. As with previous vintages, Pedestal is a blend of carefully selected vineyards chosen to create a layered, complex wine. Those who have followed Pedestal since its inception will find similarities between the highly acclaimed debut vintage (2003) and the 2007. Both growing seasons were quite warm, followed by a moderate fall and ideal harvest conditions. Warm days and cool nights contributed excellent acidity in the grapes and a lively freshness to the wine.

Now if someone was looking for a plummy, jammy, medium bodied Merlot, I would not suggest this bottle. For me it tasted and was so much more complex than your usual Merlot, it reminded me of a great Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. Yes, I am so in awe over this bottle that I told the rep I want to taste the Cabernet Sauvignon (Feather) as well from this winery.

“Elegant on the palate despite its ample size, it is loaded with succulent fruit set off by enough ripe tannin to support an additional 3-4 years of cellaring.” - 94 POINTS ” Robert Parker

14.75 ABV- 75% Merlot, 15% Cabernet Sauvignon 17% Cabernet Franc 3% Petit Verdot

My rating *****                                                                                             Price $ 60-$66

About WineGoddess1

Wine Quotes: " Wine improves with age, the older I get the more I like it." "Save the earth, it's the only planet with wine" " A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine" "Wine is meant to be shared with friends" I started this blog to share my education and passion about the wine world. Hope you enjoy! :)
This entry was posted in Columbia Valley, Highly Rated, Merlot, Washington and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Shadow Pedestal 2007

  1. Hmmm, reading this makes me want a glass of Merlot for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

