Food, Friends & Fun Interactive Dinner

On April 15th, a dear friend invited me to this event that was for the United Way.  It was an Interactive dinner at the Intercontinental Hotel with Chef Dewy LoSasso from The Forge Restaurant along with Bacardi Master Mixologist Gary Hayward.  Our table consisted of ten of us with a small stove at the head of the table and a table filled with food to be cooked.  We also had a huge bucket filled with Bacardi, all kinds of mixes and tools to make our own cocktails.  Then we had six different wines on our table that won for “Best of Glass”.

I will not get into our food experience, as it was fun because we were all making the best of it, laughing and having a great time.  The food was nothing to brag about and at $300 per ticket.  All the proceeds go to charity so does it really matter?  Um no, not really.

Evening Land Pinot Noir 2007-  this wine was a hidden gem and quite surprising.  When I first tasted it I was not wild about it at all.  My friend instantly loved it.  I had three different wine glasses filled with various wines so I just left this one and tasted others.  About thirty minutes later I came back to this one. Wow, now all of a sudden I really enjoyed it.  An Oregon Pinot Noir from Willamette, one of my favorite regions for Pinot Noir. It was a Burgundian style, elegant, soft cherry flavors, medium bodied, with a silky texture.  So lesson in this is if you do not like a wine at the first couple of taste, try it again after it has opened up, you may be delightfully surprised because I sure was.  Very nice! My rating *** $90

Sean Minor Cabernet Sauvignon 2007- From the Napa Valley, I had never tried this wine. This wine surprised me only after I found out the price. Rich ripe cherries, cassis, spices, blackberry, soft tannins, sweet oak with a finish that last.  Glass after glass with our filet mignon, this wine was pairing perfectly with our meal.  It was such an easy drinking Cabernet Sauvignon.  Suttle, refined, not complex, very enjoyable. This bottle would make a fantastic daily wine that does not break the bank and is good quality from a well-known region. Nice gift for someone as well or to have at a party. My rating *** $13-$19

These were the two wines that I thoroughly enjoyed at this event.  Goes to show price does not always make a difference.  My rating for both was three stars although there is a huge difference in price between the two.  This is what makes tasting new wines so much fun, especially when you have no idea what the retail price is.  When people find out a price on a bottle of wine they make assumptions as to if it will be a great wine or not.  Never assume!

Fun evening with good friends and sampling some wines that won “Best in Glass”

 

About WineGoddess1

Wine Quotes: " Wine improves with age, the older I get the more I like it." "Save the earth, it's the only planet with wine" " A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine" "Wine is meant to be shared with friends" I started this blog to share my education and passion about the wine world. Hope you enjoy! :)
This entry was posted in Wine Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food, Friends & Fun Interactive Dinner

  1. Patrick says:

    How did the food thing work? Who cooked the food?

    It’s kinda similar in the beer world re: trying again after it has opened up. A lot of the time stuff gets served too cold and you smell and taste little but ethanol.

    • WineGoddess1 says:

      Patrick,

      Eschel & Michelle C. cooked the food. 🙂 thank goodness ha ha I was not crazy about the food at all.

      With the wine it really had nothing to do with the temps. Could be from just opening it, just needed to soften and breathe a bit. It was a beautiful surprise. Thanks for your support my dear friend

      Michelle M. Colombo

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Gina says:

    This is what kills me about wine. You might spend a fortune and get a bad bottle, or you can spend under $20 and have a bottle full of excitement. Too bad I never remember names but I’m going to start popping little notes into my phone now that I am reading your blog about wines to look out for at the store. Thanks WineGoddess.

    • WineGoddess1 says:

      Thanks Gina. This is exactly what I love about the wine world. Tasting each bottle without any judgement and following your own palate. Would love for you to post what you like. Thanks for the comment and your support. 🙂

      Michelle M. Colombo

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

