Chalone 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon

Fact, I love Cabernet Sauvignon, one of my desired grape varietals. Who can afford to drink $80 plus Cab’s daily, well not me.  Every now and again you find yourself at a place where their wine selection is limited.  Oh what to do, I decided on this bottle because I knew for the value, you can not beat it. The Backlot Wine Bar (inside a movie theatre) was running 50 % off of all bottles of wine. So heck for $15 a bottle verses $8 a glass, why not.  I took my bottle with a chiller into the movie theatre to enjoy during my viewing.  This is from their Mountain Estate vineyard which has gravel, sand, granite and limestone. They get a warm day, with cool nights. With such an ideal growing climate their wines are very fruit forward with dark berries, rich fruit, vanilla and even a bit of spice. The finish for me was a bit flat and quick.  The oak is present without being over abundant. Great with a steak or pasta with red sauce.

This is a prime example of a good daily Cabernet Sauvignon for the value. My rating *** Price $10-$15

About WineGoddess1

Wine Quotes: " Wine improves with age, the older I get the more I like it." "Save the earth, it's the only planet with wine" " A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine" "Wine is meant to be shared with friends" I started this blog to share my education and passion about the wine world. Hope you enjoy! :)
This entry was posted in Value Wines and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chalone 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon

  1. Cab with steak is one of those universal pairings, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

