Prime Cellars “Reserve” Cabernet Sauvignon 2006

Always looking for a great deal on some Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon. I purchased three bottles of this wine, not knowing much about it, but alas it was a great deal.

Small production of only 60 cases made, from 100% Napa Valley, and 100% Cabernet Sauvignon.  The bottle is impressive, very dark, bright red label, thick glass and very heavy with a very large punt.

My initial reaction as I was pouring into my wine glass was wow look at the color, it was magnificent. Dark bright burgundy, the bouquet had many aroma’s pouring out. Anticipation kicked in, could not wait to taste.  I never form an opinion until at least my third sip. I savored and swirled the first couple of taste and was very impressed. This is my kind of Cabernet Sauvignon. Big, chewy, bold, layers of dark fruit such as blackberries, tobacco,  toasty oak, plums, chocolate and even some vanilla with cassis, currant, spice, with a long lingering intense finish.  The finish lasted a long time, sexy and very seductive. Dry, intense flavors, probably should have decanted but as the night progressed it got better and better. I will decant the next bottle for an hour or so. This wine would be awesome with a big juicy filet mignon.  Superb wine, that I am very thankful I took the chance to order. Oh what fun is it to continually keep tasting new wines constantly.  Explore, never get hooked on favorites, as the world of wine has so much to offer. An incredible experience on my palate that was outstanding!

The normal price is $55-$65 retail and I paid $33 each from Invino, www.invino.com, so happy with my first order from quality and value that I will continue to order again and again.

This bottle is everything I adore about Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon’s.  My rating ***** Price $33-$60

About WineGoddess1

Wine Quotes: " Wine improves with age, the older I get the more I like it." "Save the earth, it's the only planet with wine" " A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine" "Wine is meant to be shared with friends" I started this blog to share my education and passion about the wine world. Hope you enjoy! :)
This entry was posted in cabernet sauvignon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

