Gary Farrell Russian River Pinot Noir

Back in 2006 I had purchased six bottles of this 2003. Gary Farrell makes other varietals but they are known for making extraordinary Pinot Noir’s.

The very first bottle I opened in 2006 was a fairly big Pinot Noir, earthy, big tannins, a bit hot.  I knew it would age well.  Over the next few years I opened up each bottle to taste the difference.

Here we are in 2011, my last bottle from this vintage.

It was much lighter, the bouquet much softer of soft red fruits.  The original spicy oak that it had been now just mere hints of oak with a flat finish.  It still had ripe cherry, raspberry and strawberries.  This was a perfect Russian River Pinot Noir that aged very well over the years.  Quality and consistency was there.

My rating *** Price $40- $50

About WineGoddess1

Wine Quotes: " Wine improves with age, the older I get the more I like it." "Save the earth, it's the only planet with wine" " A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine" "Wine is meant to be shared with friends" I started this blog to share my education and passion about the wine world. Hope you enjoy! :)
This entry was posted in Pinot Noir and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

