Faustino I Gran Reserva 1998

This wine is from the most well-respected regions in Spain, Rioja. The grape varietals are 90% Tempranillo, 6% Graciano, and 4% Mazuelo. Fourth generation family owned.

This wine is lovely from a Bodega that is well-respected for making quality consistent great wines.  This bottle is one of their more affordable.  They make some very high-end wines that are unreal.  When I want beef, a grilled steak or a hearty stew or any kind of meaty Spanish dish, I really enjoy this wine.

The complex aroma’s of cedar, leather, ripe fruits, jams and spices lead you into the taste of which is powerful, full-bodied, flavors of rich red fruit, licorice, minerals, with ripe tannins. Smooth long finish.  It softens after years of cellaring.  I tasted in 2004, and it was still holding well with complexity and boldness.  This is a great example of from vintage after vintage this wine taste so different.  I have had other vintages that were soft and easy, smooth and silky to drink.  While other vintages are big, full-bodied, rich dark fruits, and chewy.

If I am in a Spanish restaurant I always look for this bottle on their wine list.  My rating *** Price $32-$36

About WineGoddess1

Wine Quotes: " Wine improves with age, the older I get the more I like it." "Save the earth, it's the only planet with wine" " A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine" "Wine is meant to be shared with friends" I started this blog to share my education and passion about the wine world. Hope you enjoy! :)
This entry was posted in Spain and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

